Poo!

(Afraid to do)

My first reaction to the question “What is ‘too scary’ to write about?” was to assume I was being challenged to write a confessional, to show part of my shadow or shake out some skeletons. (A reaction which makes me want to understand a bit more Foucault, who wrote about the societal imperative to talk or think constantly about that which is supposedly taboo)

I resisted writing such a confession and asked myself, as Mark Forster suggests, “If this resistance were a friend with an important message, what would that message be?”

Answer: It’s okay not to open myself up to potential humiliation by exposing myself publicly as I sometimes have. We all have poo in our lives, and everyone is to some extent cleaning themselves up and editing to manage an impression – and that really is okay. Would the world be a better place if I put a big pile of poo on the carpet and said ‘Hey! There’s a lot of poo in the world! No-one’s talking about the poo!’?

All of which is a lot less scary to write about than the second wave of catabolic collapse of industrial society.

—–

This piece is my response to the ninth prompt of the Trust30 Challenge:

The other terror that scares us from self-trust is our consistency; a reverence for our past act or word, because the eyes of others have no other data for computing our orbit than our past acts, and we are loath to disappoint them. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Emerson says: “Always do what you are afraid to do.” What is ‘too scary’ to write about? Try doing it now.

(Author: Mary Jaksch)



 

 

2 Comments to “Poo!”

  1. This is great. I do love it!

  2. John, so well put! There are so much psychic free radicals out there and we don’t get that we react to it unconsciously and without any knowledge how to protect ones soul from it. I agree it’s not okay to just split yourself open and expose yourself to that energetic flow of “you-know-what-I-want-to-get-under-your-skin-and-take-over-you” exchange.

    In a situation when I feel that firm grasp in my gut, I try to stay still and ask myself “Am I sure of what I feel, is actually my feelings? Did I unknowingly stored feelings, thoughts, ENERGY that actually belongs to someone else?” Sometimes I realize that I did, and then I can take some concentrated “soul c-vitamins” and work on let that go. Sometimes it’s not working and then I feel drained and lost. And other times it is actually my own feelings and thoughts. Then I have to own it and work with it, try to avoid the temptation to look the other way.

    Love it, John. xoxo

Leave a Reply

