Archive for June 8th, 2011

June 8, 2011

Dear future, dear past

(Five Years)

Dear 2006 me,

Thank you for the path you’re taking, though it’s not the easiest, or most obvious. These five years there will be times you’ll be told and believe you’re wasting your prime years, your mid-thirties – that you’re missing out on life. You won’t realise as I finally do now that this is your life, the role you’re choosing to play. Thank you for striving to do good, and for seeking out the healing (and the mistakes) that have brought me here.

John.

Dear 2016 me,

Remember this quiet little time in 2011, the break (at least) from Balance work, wondering where I’ll be living next month, enjoying this writing challenge alongside the likes of Michi and Nico. This warmest ever winter in the year that seems to be showing climate chaos is upon us much sooner than we’d thought – remember it was really rather pleasant. I’d love it if you’d drop me a line how this next bit goes, economic collapse, intensification of resource wars, 2012 fever?… Yeah, I know, you can’t, ‘space-time continuum’ and all that.

I wonder where you are and what you’re doing.

Keep breathing,

John

—-

This piece is my response to the eighth prompt of the Trust30 Challenge:

There will be an agreement in whatever variety of actions, so they be each honest and natural in their hour. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

What would you say to the person you were five years ago? What will you say to the person you’ll be in five years?

(Author: Corbett Barr)